Exhibition of the Soviet Art

Since June, 9 Museum of the History of Religion presents the exhibition Country of the Soviets: Milestones in the History of Art


The October Revolution of 1917 – an ambiguous and controversial event which changed the lives of millions of people not only in the former Russian Empire, but also throughout the world. The significance of this event today is not fully comprehended by society, and its consequences in all areas of human life are perceptible even in a century.
One of the main goals of the revolution was to create a “new man”, which was not possible without the creation of a new culture. This culture for the first time through cinematic screens, radios, megaphones, paintings appealed to all the people of the country. However, it experienced different periods of development. In the first years of Soviet power artistic innovation was encouraged, then in 1930s there started the occurrence of a universal style trends – socialist realism, which was to determine the appearance of a new culture for decades. Deliberately abandoning aesthetization and abstraction, socialist realism put in the spotlight creative worker, his achievements and victories.
The postwar period was the peak of the development of socialist realism in all the arts. In Belarus, an important feature has been the use of this style in art glass. Topics of the October Revolution, the Communist Party congresses, the creation of the Communist Youth League, Great Patriotic War, images of leaders of the party, state and army, astronautics and the most important cultural events are reflected in the works of Belarusian artists. It is noteworthy that these works bear the imprint of national traditions and practices, as well as the features peculiar to overseas 1940-50s Stalin’s Empire with its desire for pomp, grandeur and luxury, and popular in the 1960s, Severe Style attributes of which were clear restraint, convention and simplicity of form.

The exhibition Country of the Soviets: Milestones in the History of Art dedicated to the 100th anniversary of October Revolution, and offers to recall the main events of Soviet history through the prism of art works made in 1930-1980s. The exhibition includes objects of decorative art of glass and ceramics, as well as rare examples of Soviet posters from the collections of Grodno State Museum of the History of Religion, National History Museum of Belarus, Grodno State History and Archeology Museum, glass factory Neman (Berezovka, Lida District). Among the works there distinguish works of recognized masters of glass art B. Murakhver and L. Myagkova. For these products is typical iconic decorativism, monumentalism, semantic expressiveness of color, elegiac philosophicity of content, narrative lyrical imagery.

Works of the Belarusian painters and artisans moved the glass art beyond the framework of making cooking utensils, turned it into an art of color, plasticity and clear graphics.

kraina_2017_1

Выставка советского искусства

С 9 июня в музее экспонируется выставка «Страна Советов: вехи истории в искусстве»

Октябрьская революция 1917 года – неоднозначное и противоречивое событие, которое изменило жизнь миллионов людей не только в бывшей Российской империи, но и во всем мире. Значимость этого события и сегодня не в полной мере осмыслена обществом, а его последствия во всех сферах человеческой жизни ощущаются и через столетие.

Одной из главных целей революции являлось формирование «нового человека», что было невозможно без создания новой культуры. Эта культура впервые через кинематографические экраны, рупоры радиоприемников и полотна живописцев обращалась ко всем людям страны. Однако и она переживала разные периоды своего развития. Если в первые годы советской власти приветствовалось и поддерживалось художественное новаторство, то уже в 1930-е годы началось создание универсального стилевого направления – социалистического реализма, который должен был определить облик новой культуры на десятилетия. Сознательно отказавшись от эстетизации и абстракции, социалистический реализм ставил в центр внимания творчества работника его достижения и победы.

Послевоенное время стало пиком развития соцреализма во всех видах искусства. В Беларуси важной особенностью было использование этого стиля в произведениях искусства обработки стекла. Темы Октябрьской революции, съездов Коммунистической партии, создания Коммунистического союза молодежи, Великой Отечественной войны, образов руководителей партии, государства и армии, космонавтики и важнейших культурных событий нашли свое отражение в работах белорусских мастеров. Примечательно, что эти работы несут отпечаток национальных традиций и приемов, а также особенностей как свойственного для рубежа 1940–50-х годов «сталинского ампира» с его стремлением к помпезности, величественности и роскоши, так и популярного в 1960-е годы «сурового стиля», чертами которого были выраженная сдержанность, условность и простота форм.

Выставка «Страна Советов: вехи истории в искусстве» приурочена к 100-летнему юбилею Октябрьской революции и предлагает вспомнить основные события советской истории через призму художественных произведений, выполненных в 1930–1980-х годах. На выставке экспонируются предметы декоративно-прикладного искусства из стекла и керамики, а также раритетные образцы советского плаката из сборов Гродненского государственного музея истории религии, Национального исторического музея Республики Беларусь, Гродненского государственного историко-археологического музея, стеклозавода «Неман» (г. Березовка Лидского района). Среди представленных работ выделяются произведения признанных мастеров художественного стекла В. Мурахвера и Л. Мягковой. Для их изделий характерны изобразительная декоративность, монументализм, смысловая выразительность цвета, элегическая философичность содержания, повествовательная лирическая образность.

Работы белорусских художников и мастеров переместили искусство обработки стекла за рамки создания посуды, превратили его в искусство цвета, пластики и выразительной графичности.

kraina_2017_1