Books

The museum collection Books began to form in 1975 (Book. Universe. St. Petersburg, 1900). The structure of the museum’s collection includes books and brochures publishing from 1830 to the present days. The basis of the museum’s collection consists of printed material of publishers and printers of different confessions in Belarus and abroad, as well as the publications of the first years of Soviet power, devoted to the problems of the struggle against religion and the development of Soviet culture and science. Special attention should be paid to sub-collections of liturgical and theological literature, Bibles and Gospels. Acquisition continues with modern publications on the subject of religious relations, research in the field of history and art of confessions in Belarus. The most valuable museum objects in the museum’s collection are:

  • Book. Gospel. Moscow, 1833. Hardcover – boards, oil painting in the tradition of Gomel and Mogilev school of icon painting of the 19th century;
  • Book. Gospel. Moscow, 1841;
  • Books from the library of priest Adam Stankevich. Beginning of the 20th century -1930s;
  • Books from the library of the Grodno Franciscan monastery. 1831-1939, etc.

As of 01.01.2019, the museum collection Books consists of 4865 objects of the main fund and 749 objects of scientific and auxiliary materials’ fund.

Close Menu